Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
4

But where are you from, really?

Musings on home, identity, compassion, and belonging to the human race.
4

I decided to video record my blog today instead of writing. Experimenting with new media as I am about to launch a new podcast with my colleague Eva Dalak called, Women Ending War. (Stay tuned to this space!) Meanwhile, would love your feedback about this — both the content and the format.

References:

In this recording, I blanked on the name of Seyla Benhabib’s theory: The Generalized and Concrete Other, in her book, Situating the Self.

I also made reference to the writing of Raja Shahedah. He is a beautiful writer and I have read several of his books. I am currently on, We could have been friends, my father and I. I feel like books like his are not only illuminating but also essential reading for people who grew up like I did, being definitively “told” what Palestinians think and feel from the time we were kids, before we knew anything about anything, before we had ever having spoken to an actual Palestinian human being…. For people still in that “bubble” splaining what Palestinian people “really” think and feel and want, this reading is a vital process of undoing and unlearning all that dehumanization of the other….

The Roar is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

The Roar
The Roar
An unapologetically gendered take on the state of the world. Fierce. Feminist. Fabulous.